Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching Databases Cheat Sheet: Home

A quick and easy guide to help make using our databases easier

How to Get to The Databases:

Go to the library website: vinu.libguides.com/shakelibrary.  The “Databases A-Z” is located below the OneVU search bar.

Databases A to Z

 

Then, choose a database from the list. You may also choose a topic from the Subject dropdown

 

Searching Databases:

While most databases have a simple search function, it’s best used for simple questions. Any topic with more than two main ideas end in either two ways: too many results or none at all. This is when you use the advanced search. Here are some steps to help you out.

There are 4 steps to remember:

1. Break Down the Complex

2. Set Your Operators

3. Know Your Search Fields

4. Set Your Limits

 

Video Tutorial

Watch the video version of this guide.

Ask a Librarian!

Ask A Librarian

Email Shake Library at libref@vinu.edu.

Call the Library Information Desk at 812-888-4165.

Meet our Staff.

Chat loading...

Vincennes University

812-888-VUVU | 800-742-9198

1002 North First Street; Vincennes, Indiana 47591

www.vinu.edu/

Shake Library

812-888-4165 | libref@vinu.edu

1002 North First Street; Vincennes, Indiana 47591

vinu.libguides.com/shakelibrary

Jasper Academic Center for Excellence

812-481-5923 | ace@vinu.edu

850 College Ave; Jasper, IN 47546

vinu.libguides.com/jasper