How to Find Information in the Library Tutorial: Module 1: OneVU

• Competently use the basic and advanced search features in Shake Library's online catalog and databases.

Shake Library contains a large collection of books, eBooks, articles, and other print and online material. One of the best ways to search for materials is in OneVU, Vincennes University's online library catalog.  This can be found on the library homepage. From here, you can search everything we own.  In order to directly access any online materials, please make sure that you login to VUX before starting your search.

Once you do a search, you can find the following information:

1. Title
2. Author
3. Item Type and Publication Year
4. Book (print) Records: Item availability, location, and call number
5. Ebooks/articles: Clicking on the "View eBook" or "View full text" button will take you directly to the eBook/article
   • Make sure you are logged into VUX before clicking this button!
6. The Menu on the left allows you to limit your results in different ways and tells you how many items of each type there are.
7. Total number of results are located at the top of the results list.

If you click on the title of an item, it will open the item record. There you will see more information:

1. A Summary may be found under the item's title at the top of the page.

2. The Description can contain a list of contents, subjects, and more.

3. To the right, under Access Options, you will find the location information for physical copies in your campus library or a link to view the online eBook or article.

Another useful feature of OneVU is that it helps you create citations in various formats, such as MLA and APA. The citation button is located at the top an item's record page. HOWEVER, you should not use this feature when creating citations for eBooks, articles, or other online content as there will be missing information. Instead, click View Ebook or View Full Text, and use the citation feature available in the database where the eBook or article is found.
Make sure you are logged into VUX before clicking on any database links.

The Advanced Search feature allows you to limit your search results. OneVU and most databases have this option. In OneVU, it is located under the search box at the top of the page.

Here you can break down your search in a variety of ways:

1. Search Terms: You can have as many of these as you need. You can tell the catalog to look for your search terms in a variety of specific places, such as Keyword (everything), Title, Author, Publisher, etc.
2. Operators: These options inform how your search terms are searched together:
   • AND: Search results must include both search terms.
   • OR: Search results must include either or both search terms.
   • NOT: Search results must exclude a specific search term.
3. Below the search terms, there are the Search Tools. These tools include Format (Book, eBook, Article, etc.), Year Range, Language, Audience, Content Type (Fiction, nonfiction, biography, etc.), and more.

Still not sure what to do? Watch these videos!