LibGuides: Family and Consumer Science: Online Resources

Recommended Websites

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Forums, blogs, and public information regarding nutrition and dietetics.
American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
Information and resources from AAFCS.

Census.gov
Key source for demographic, economic, and health data about the United States.

National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
Provided by the National Institutes of Health, this site deals specifically with research regarding child development.
National Standards for Family and Consumer Sciences Education:
Providing the framework for national, state and local programs.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for any type of research. A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date, unbiased information on issues in the news. Topics include: health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from nearly 800 reference eBooks on topics including: art, food & beverage, language, medicine, psychology, social sciences, biographies, geography, law, music, religion, technology, business, history, literature, philosophy, and science.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for research on any topic. Provides access to over 3,600 full-text journals on topics including: the arts, business, education, health and medical, humanities, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources. Topics include business & economic, civil rights & liberties, communication & technology, crime & punishment, drugs, health & wellness, environment & science, ethics, school, family & youth, world cultures & poitics.

Ask a Librarian!

Email Shake Library at libref@vinu.edu.

Call the Library Information Desk at 812-888-4165.

NEW: Text Shake Library at 888-993-8468 (VINU)

Meet our Staff.

Chat loading...

Family and Consumer Science: Online Resources

How to Find Articles

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

Recommended Videos

Ask a Librarian!

Vincennes University

Shake Library

Jasper Academic Center for Excellence