Skip to Main Content

Geography: Database Help

This Library Guide will help students find the resources they need for their geography research.

Database Help

Below you will find guides for some of the databases to which Shake Library subscribes.

Don't see a guide for the database you need help with? Use the "Ask a Librarian" information for assistance.

Database Guides

DATABASE	GUIDE	VIDEO
	Basic Search Advanced Search Applying Filters to Your Search Using the Bookmark Feature Sharing Articles and eBooks Managing Multiple Results Creating a Personal Account Using the Dashboard Creating Projects Creating and Managing Journal Alerts Creating and Managing Search Alerts Translating Online Full Text Translating the User Interface Searching Publications Browsing Subjects Using Text-to-Speech to read full text Using the Cite and Export Tool Saving articles to Google Drive Takeaway Guide	Introduction to the New EBSCOhost - Tutorial The EBSCO Mobile App - Tutorial
	Academic Search Handout
	Tutorial
	Business Source Take Away Guide Handout	Advanced Searching Basic Searching Training Tip: Content & Searching
	Help Sheet Advanced Medical Searching Take Away Guide Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings	Advanced Searching Basic Searching Using CINAHL/MESH Headings
	EBSCO eBooks User Guide Downloading an eBook Chapter as a PDF Viewing publisher Permissions for an eBook Title	EBSCO eBooks on the EBSCO Mobile App
	Tutorial	Tutorial
	Basic Search Advanced Search Browsing by Category Topic Overview Result List Managing Multiple Results Reading an Article Using the Citation & Export Tools Using the Bookmark Feature Using the Cite Tool Sharing Articles and eBooks Creating a Personal Account Using the Dashboard Creating Projects Creating and Managing Search Alerts Translating Online Full Text Translating the User Interface Using Text-to-Speech to read full text Saving articles to Google Drive Tutorial	Tutorial
	Basic Search Advanced Search Result List Managing Multiple Results Browsing by Topic Applying Filters to Your Search Using the Bookmark Feature Using the Cite Tool Sharing Articles and eBooks Creating a Personal Account Using the Dashboard Creating Projects Translating Online Full Text Translating the User Interface Using Text-to-Speech to read PDFs
	Tutorial Creating Literary Timelines Scavenger Hunt
	Advanced Searching with MEDLINE Medical Subject Headings Advanced Medical Searching Take Away Guide
	Analyzing and Presenting Visual Arguments Elements of Persuasion Preparing for an Oral Debate Scavenger Hunt Tutorial
	Conducting a Basic Search Advanced Search - Single Find Field Advanced Search - Guided Style Using Search History Images Browsing by Category Result List Reading an Article Citing Articles Tutorial
	Critically Analyzing Sources for a Literature Review Scavenger Hunt	Tutorial
	Basic Searching Browsing by Category Browsing Popular Sources Browsing Start-Up Information

DATABASE	GUIDE	VIDEO
	Link to Trusted Gale Content	Citation Tools Get Link Tool Google Classroom Integration Highlights and Notes Topic Finder Accessibility Support
	Advanced Search Tip Sheet Best Practices for Searching Get Link Guide	Browsing Titles Searching for Information Webinar 15 Minutes to Mastery: Gale eBooks Text vs. Book View 15 Minutes to Mastery: Tools to Support Accessibility
	Quick Tips Resource Guide Advanced Search Tip Sheet	Gale Literature Resource Center Literary Analysis 15 Minutes to Mastery: Explore Enhancements to Gale's People Search
	Resource Guide In Context Content Levels Guide Advanced Search Tip Sheet Topic Finder Tip Sheet	Gale In Context Enhancements Opposing Viewpoints - Topic Pages Webinar When You Need a Research Topic

DATABASE

GUIDE

VIDEO

ProQuest Research Library

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Print or Download Chapter

QuickStart Guide

Book Detail Page

Online Reader & Productivity Tools

Organize Your Research

Search for a Book

SIRS Search Options

Learning Module

DATABASE	GUIDE	VIDEO
	Artstor on JSTOR Images on JSTOR About Images in Search Results Using Compare Mode for JSTOR Images Research Basics	Artstor on JSTOR Images on JSTOR
	Guided Tour	Overview Video
	LibGuide How to Cite Source Types Information for Students and Researchers	Tutorial (YouTube) Overview Video
	Advanced Search Basic Search Find a Book Image Search Mind Map Real-Time Reference Topic Page Video Content in Credo	Tutorials (YouTube) Presenting Credo Reference Basic Searching Image Searching Explore the Mind Map Working with the Title List
	Academic Success with Films on Demand Browsing for Content Exploring Subjects Quick Start Guide	The New and Improved Films On Demand Platform

Ask a Librarian!

Email Shake Library at libref@vinu.edu.

Call the Library Information Desk at 812-888-4165.

NEW: Text Shake Library at 888-993-8468 (VINU)

Meet our Staff.

Chat loading...

Vincennes University

812-888-VUVU | 800-742-9198

1002 North First Street; Vincennes, Indiana 47591

Shake Library

812-888-4165 | libref@vinu.edu

1002 North First Street; Vincennes, Indiana 47591

vinu.libguides.com/shakelibrary

Jasper Academic Center for Excellence

812-481-5923 | ace@vinu.edu

850 College Ave; Jasper, IN 47546

vinu.libguides.com/jasper