LibGuides: World Cultures and Languages: Online Resources

Recommended Websites

Country Studies
This collection contains electronic versions of eighty books originally sponsored by the U.S. Army and written by researchers affiliated with the Library’s Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, the studies provide descriptions and analyses of lesser-known countries or regions where U.S. military forces might be deployed.

Curationist This link opens in a new window
Curationist is a free tool that makes millions of digital images of artworks and artifacts from around the world easy to access. We connect curious minds to the history, stories, and ideas these works inspire.

The CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook includes brief statistical data about the geography, people, economy, government, communication, defense and transportation of each country.
globalEDGE
Locate information and statistical data for over 200 countries.
Global Gateway: World Cultures & Resources
From the Library of Congress, this site links to multimedia resources, exhibitions, databases, and other materials on nations, regions, and world cultures.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Describes current relations between the US and other countries, from the U.S. Department of State.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for any type of research. A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned Encyclopedia Britannica,Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines, periodicals, and many other research tools.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from nearly 800 reference eBooks on topics including: art, food & beverage, language, medicine, psychology, social sciences, biographies, geography, law, music, religion, technology, business, history, literature, philosophy, and science.
EBSCO Exploring Race in Society
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Explora Educator's Edition This link opens in a new window
A tool designed to help teachers with lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and valuable sites for teachers.
Explora for Middle Schools This link opens in a new window
A student interface designed for use in Middle & High School grades with a focus on the Arts, Literature, Biography, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History, Math, Science and more. Useful for education students.
NOTE: The Explora platform is currently not displaying properly. For access to Explora, please use the INSPIRE link on our Databases A-Z page.
Explora for Primary Schools This link opens in a new window
A student interface designed for use in Kindergarten through grade 5 with a focus on the Arts, Literature, Biography, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History, Math, Science and more. Useful for education students.
NOTE: The Explora platform is currently not displaying properly. For access to Explora, please use the INSPIRE link on our Databases A-Z page.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
An interface designed for public and school libraries with a focus on the arts, literature, biography, business and careers, current events, geography and culture, health, history, math, science and more.
Explora for Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
An interface designed for students in grades 9 through 12 with a focus on the arts, literature, biography, business and careers, current events, geography and culture, health, history, math, science and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The leading source of web-based digital video delivery service for all academic, vocational, and life-skills topics.
Fonte Academica This link opens in a new window
Portuguese language scholarly resources. A resource for academic researchers, this multidisciplinary database provides extensive full-text coverage of Portuguese-language scholarly content. It is a rapidly growing collection of journals from Brazil and Portugal designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format.
Fuenta Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Spanish language scholarly journal. A source for academic research, providing key coverage of major subject areas. Fuente Acadmica provides researchers with a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for research on any topic. Provides access to over 3,600 full-text journals on topics including: the arts, business, education, health and medical, humanities, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
Rosetta Stone Level One for Personal Use This link opens in a new window
Recognized as a leader in technology-based language learning, Rosetta Stone offers libraries and their patrons their proven immersion method.

Ask a Librarian!

Email Shake Library at libref@vinu.edu.

Call the Library Information Desk at 812-888-4165.

NEW: Text Shake Library at 888-993-8468 (VINU)

Meet our Staff.

Chat loading...

World Cultures and Languages: Online Resources

How to Find Articles

Recommended Websites

Recommended Databases

Recommended Videos

Ask a Librarian!

Vincennes University

Shake Library

Jasper Academic Center for Excellence