Photography: Online Resources

Stanford University's Libraries and Cantor Arts Center's digital archive containing 3,600 contact sheets and 130,000 images publicly available. Users can search the contact sheets, browse photographs grouped by categories such as specific parties or New York street scenes, and view contact sheets and enlarged views of all the photos.

Free access to more than 40,000 images from the digital archives of the Art Institute of Chicago. Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection as well as books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.

An extensive library of free stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use. Offers access to more than ten million images freely available across 13 providers. Formerly known as Creative Commons.

The stated aim of the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is to bring together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and make them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to make the realm of openly available materials more easily discovered and more widely used. This resource offers a single point of access to millions of items including photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline, map, format, and topic. Users can also save items to customized lists and share their lists with others.

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images scanned from items in the New York Public Library's collections.

Search Smithsonian's collections, ranging from art, to air and space, science, nature, technology, history, and people and places.

A great starting point for any type of research. A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. This scholarly collection provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. and nearly 4,000 full-text scholarly publications.

A repository of millions of high-quality digital images from disciplines including: art, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Access to over 500 full-text journals and trade publications on topics including: computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales & retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and more.

Full-text articles from nearly 800 reference eBooks on topics including: art, food & beverage, language, medicine, psychology, social sciences, biographies, geography, law, music, religion, technology, business, history, literature, philosophy, and science.

The EBSCO eBook Community College Collection offers over 40,000 books from a variety of publishers.These books are non-fiction, selected to help students do research for school work or personal interest. There are books on most subjects, including art, history, nursing, psychology, zoology, and much more.

A good starting point for research on any topic. Provides access to over 3,600 full-text journals on topics including: the arts, business, education, health and medical, humanities, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.